Sue Boynton Poetry Contest Announces Winners and Awards Ceremony

About 300 Whatcom County residents participated in the 9th annual Sue C. Boynton Poetry Contest which was judged by Jim Bertolino, a nationally recognized and popular award-winning poet, and Sheila Nickerson, former poet laureate of Alaska and two-time Pushcart Prize winner.

“All of us on the committee are thrilled by the volume of poems submitted this year, the rich quality of materials, and the ever-increasing participation of students,” says Norman Green, Boynton Committee Co-Chair.

The contest’s judges select the poems through a blind process. The 2014 Walk Award winners are: Michelle Ballou, Amanda Chandler (10th grade), Linda Conroy, Thom Davis, Evan Ingalls, Konrad Kocsis, Andrew Shattuck McBride, Savannah Miller (12th grade), Erica Reed and Judy Teresa.

Merit Winners are: Luther Allen, Diane Bateman, Angela Belcaster, Cassondra Dick (11th grade), Seren Fargo, Seth Friedman, Suzanne Harris, Bob Hicks, Brett Larkin (6th grade), Thomas Lewis (10th grade), Carol McMillan, M. Ann Miller and Cody Moser (12th grade), Donna Watson Rushing, and Luci Shaw.

The public is invited to honor the winners and hear the poets read their winning entries at the Sue C. Boynton Awards Ceremony, Thursday, May 15, 2014, 7:00 p.m. The awards ceremony is held at the Bellingham Cruise Terminal, 355 Harris Avenue, Bellingham. The event (and parking) are free. This year Kevin Murphy will emcee, and the judges will present award certificates. A chapbook of poems from this year’s contest will be available for purchase. All poems entered in this year’s contest will be on display at the awards ceremony.

Copies of each poem, on placards designed by Anita Boyle and Angela Boyle of Egress Studio, will be displayed for a year inside Whatcom Transportation Authority buses circulating throughout the county. The Walk Award winners will be displayed for a year on engraved plaques on the Poetry Walk in front of the Bellingham Library—one of a few permanent poetry installations in the United States.

Visit for more information

Leave a Reply